Frasiarzianti's Blog

Le frasi più belle tratte dai libri letti

E così vorresti fare lo scrittore – Bukowski

“the way to create art is to burn and destroy
ordinary concepts and to substitute them
with new truths that run down from the top of the head
and out from the heart.”

“creation is like anything else good:
you have to wait on it; ambition has killed more
artists than indolence”

“the strop landed
again
and then I knew why I had
wanted to
fly…to fly
right through the walls,
to fly
right out the window,
to any place but
here.”

“the most terrible thing about life
is finding it gone”

“my mother wouldn’t
say much,
she’d be busy in
the kitchen,
but my father
always had something
to say
and it was always
the
same:
well, henry, what
have you been doing
all day?
nothing.
nothing? what the
hell kind of answer is
that?
I wouldn’t reply,
not to him,
he would never
know,
I’d die before I
would tell him
anything,
he could kill me
before I’d tell
him.
him and his shoes,
him and his ears,
him and his hairy
arms.
whatever it was
I had
done,
it belonged only to
me.”

“I got up and walked
down to the library.
I went inside
found a book and
sat down
at a table.
I began to read
the book.
the meaning was
too deep
for me
then.
so i put it
back on the shelf
walked back outside
and waited.”

“America at work,
where they rip out your intestines
and your brain and your
will and your spirit.
they suck you dry, then throw
you away.
the capitalist system
the work ethic.
the profit motive.
the memory of your father’s words,
work hard and you’ll be
appreciated.
of course, only if you make
much more for them than they pay
you.”

“after a moment i hear gunshots off somewhere in the
distance.
the contest of life continues.”

“What you do is take whatever luck comes your way and
pretend
you know more than you ever
will.”

“life is full of happy
miracles
here in the cool dark
winter evening.”

“meanwhile, some wild-eyed young man
alone and unknown in a room
will be writing things that will make you forget
everybody else
except maybe the young man to
follow after
him.”

“I mean, men once wrote with
quill pens.
we must move on.
so I cleared the desk off for the new
computer.”

“for the time
being
my old IBM has
risen from the grave,
the bottle of beer
is to my left. and the little red
radio to my right is
playing
Bach”

“It’s true:
pain and suffering
helps to create
what we call
art.”

“the higher you climb
the greater the pressure
those who manage to
endure
learn
that the distance
between the
top and
the bottom
is
obscenely
great.
and those who
succeed
know
this secret:
there isn’t
one.”

“we all go through it, those times
when we decide to angrily challenge everyone and
everything.”

“old habits often die
as slowly
ad so
old men.”

“weawe between a Volks and a Fiat.
as flecks of rain spatter the
windshield
I decide not to die just
yet:
this good life just smells too
sweet.”

Navigazione ad articolo singolo

Rispondi

